For those with celiac disease or following a gluten-free diet, another food option is available: Subway. This month, the sandwich chain started testing a gluten- free bun made with egg whites, corn starch and tapioca starches, as well as a gluten-free brownie made with potato starch, cocoa and sugar. Both products are being test marketed in 700 outlets in Dallas and East Texas.
To ensure the products remain glutenfree in facilities that also bake madefrom- wheat bread on site, the buns and brownies are baked and packaged at a separate facility and shipped to stores. During sandwich assembly, employees will slice the bread with a single-use knife to prevent wheat contamination. The chain does not currently have plans to expand the gluten-free program nationwide.
Subway also is testing a diabetes-friendly menu in the Midwest, and a few locations throughout the United States now feature kosher products.